Understanding Supplier and Customer Network Settings
Trace Exchange uses two settings to manage connections with suppliers and customers.
- Supplier Network Settings control how suppliers can find and connect with your organization.
- Customer Network Settings control how your organization connects with customers you supply.
Supplier Network Settings
Supplier Network Settings control how suppliers can see and connect with your organization.
When a supplier connects with your organization, your master location data is shared with them for use in shared events.
Public
When your organization is set to Public:
- Other Trace Exchange users can see and connect with your organization.
- Suppliers identified on your provided supplier list will connect automatically when they have automatic connections enabled.
- If the supplier does not have automatic connections enabled, an invitation to connect will be sent automatically on your behalf.
- The supplier must accept the invitation before the connection is established.
Public with Approval
When your organization is set to Public with Approval:
- Other Trace Exchange users can see your organization and request to connect.
- You can also invite suppliers to connect with your organization.
- All connections require your approval before they are established.
- Connections are not created automatically.
Private
When your organization is set to Private:
- Other Trace Exchange users cannot see your organization or request to connect.
- You must invite each supplier you want to connect with.
Customer Network Settings
Customer Network Settings control how your organization connects with customers in Trace Exchange.
A connection must be established before you can share shipping records with a customer.
Automatically connect with customers
When this setting is enabled, your organization can automatically connect with a customer when:
- Your organization is on the customer’s supplier list.
- The customer’s settings allow automatic connections.
If automatic connection is not available, or your organization is not on the customer’s supplier list, you will need to manually request a connection or accept an invitation from the customer.
Auto-connect is on
When auto-connect is on:
- Eligible customer connections are created automatically.
- If the customer’s settings do not allow automatic connections, or your organization is not on their supplier list, you will need to manually request the connection or accept an invitation.
Auto-connect is off
When auto-connect is off:
- Customer connections are not created automatically, even if your organization is on the customer’s supplier list.
- You will need to manually request the connection or accept an invitation from the customer.
Why connections matter
Connections allow organizations to work together across supported Trace Exchange workflows.
For supplier connections, connected suppliers can use applicable organization data when creating shared events.
For customer connections, your organization must be connected with a customer before shipping records can be shared with them.